The best way to get my Portuguese up

Sir,
I am looking to move at some point to SP and need some help. I would like to know what you think is the best way to get my Portuguese up to par since I am mostly a beginner at this point and about IT work if possible but if not, perhaps English teaching. I am currently an IT manager with a fairly good amount of IT skills that are current. I know nothing about Brazil's IT culture/capabilities or how current the country is. The bigger issue will be my Portuguese and I want to learn very much so I can ask and be understood. Is there a book or language software perhaps or an online course that you would recommend? Thanks in advance and hope to hear from you soon.

Ron Christie
Hopeful SP resident some day!

Hi Ron,

Brazil is actually one of the world's most advanced nations regarding IT. It is certainly a growth industry here. All of the major IT and software technology companies operate here.

As far as learning Portuguese goes, I'm a firm believer in formal education. Check for language schools in your country that may offer Portuguese courses, failing that try and find a private teacher. There are also a number of computer based programs or online courses for Portuguese. They should not be considered an alternative to classrooms and books, but certainly are extremely helpful adjuncts.

Contrary to popular belief that English will get you by anywhere on earth, it's not always true. To live and work in Brazil a decent level of fluency in Portugese is absolutely essential. While it's true that English is the "universal language of commerce", it is not widely spoken here even in large businesses. The average Brazilian citizen speaks TWO kinds of English, LITTLE or NONE. So just getting by in day to day situations would be a real challenge without Portuguese.

Hope this helps.

Cheers,
William James Woodward - Brazil Animator, Expat-blog Team