Cheap used cars - whats the catch?

Dear members,

Yesterday I got an job offer from Malta, and I accepted it.

As I will move with my family with two small children, I think I will need a car.

I found some very cheap offers, but I'm suspicious.

As Malta's used car market is unknown for me, I'm wondering these are real, or something is in the background?

http://www.autotradermalta.com/viewcar. … =Home&q=a6http://www.autotradermalta.com/searchre … entlyAddedhttp://www.autotradermalta.com/viewcar. … entlyAdded

Thanks

András

It looks like these are not registered in Malta, so you would need to find out the cost to register each one, then add it to the price.

Terry

I tought the same, but why it is worth to sell them so cheap, why not to sell them in their home country? Strange...

Anyway thanks for the answer.

Andras

Great.

Then finding an cheap car in good condition will not be an easy task, as I am not a big expert of cars..
Thanks,

Andras

Many of these ads are fraud. The cars are not in Malta yet (as you can see on the background of the pictures) and to bring them here you will have to make an advance payment ...

Entity wrote:

Then finding an cheap car in good condition will not be an easy task, as I am not a big expert of cars..

Not from some car dealers ;)
But today for example I saw a Citroen C4 on maltese plates in really good condition and tidy interior at 7000,- ... even in Malta you can find bargains :)

Hi Andras,

welcome to the forum and congratulations to the job offer.

from the pictures shown the cars are not located in Malta! Taxes and possibly other costs are possible.

If you do not know much about cars be cautious and get independent advice. Against Malta used car dealers you won't have much of a chance.

You can try buying a used car from an Expat leaving the island ! Might be a better deal

Cheers
Ricky

Hello Ricky,