Finding work in portgal

finding work in portgal seems to be a grate deal of dicrimnation with age i am a driver with more than 20 year experance driving around europ i have 54 years old but find thay are not intrested in people over 40 hear but i can not understand why may be some one can tell me were i might find a job as a truck triver in lisbon portgal i am english but stay now in lisbon for the last 2 years thanks

Hello kevk.

Welcome to Expat.com! :)

In meantime I invite you to post an advert in the Jobs in Lisbon section. It might help.

Thank you,
Aurélie

thanks i will try job portgal

The older you are, the more you will want for a salary if the general feeling. That and you are reaching an age that medical complications will take more time and money for the employer to deal with.

well thanks that helps ....

kevk wrote:

finding work in portgal seems to be a grate deal of discrimination with age i am a driver with more than 20 year experance driving around europ i have 54 years old but find thay are not intrested in people over 40 hear but i can not understand why may be some one can tell me were i might find a job as a truck triver in lisbon portgal i am english but stay now in lisbon for the last 2 years thanks

I have to agree with you... I'm in the thirties and it is difficult. The biggest discrimination when you look for a job here in Portugal is without a shadow of a doubt, age.

Need to go and talk directly to the companies. Show up in the offices. Insist a little bit. Whenever possible try to speak to the manager or the owner (if it's a small company). Sometimes the secretaries and the medium hierarchies are the biggest barriers you face in the companies.
So many problems wouldn't exist if we could just talk directly to the bosses!
Good luck.
Saul

hi i all ready done this but thay ok we will call or get back to you in a few days or the boss is not hear now or come back later  but we have to keep trying