Help me to choose between district 8th and district 5th

Hi all
i need further information about corvin apartments  8th district and 8th district in general like is it safe and i heard that is the new city center and  surrounded by mall,gym,cinema,bars,restaurants is that true ???

i need to choose between 2 flats corvin  promenade 8th district or O utca 5th district behind the opera house

i'm a student at bme university so corvin promenade look good but i don't wanna be far from downtown but on google maps corvin look like on the edge of district 5

so i need your advice, it's very important to me
thanks  :)

Hello gergi.

Welcome to Expat.com! :)

Hope you'll be advised by other members soon.

Thank you,
Aurélie

i hope that too
thanks Aurélie :)

Hi gergi,
Do you have a precise street address for the Corvin apartment?
The area I know a little of is around the modernised cinema area at Corvin köz, which is near Corvin-negyed metro station. This spot is OK, near a major crossroads with good tram and metro links and MuseumOMArts nearby. There are certainly tourist apartments around there. But personally I wouldn't be attracted too much further east. Safety probably OK, but you'd be heading into local rather more than familiar tourist territory.

O utca in 5 district is definitely at the heart of downtown activity. At least either end is. Personally I have a down on that street for accomodation, simply because its long, very narrow, has few nice views, and nothing much actually happens in it. But everything happens within a few yards of it! And probably you won't be seeking a view anyway.

Your BME Uni is presumably across the river between Petőfi and Szabadság bridges. Corvin would be the quickest location to reach there. But transport is excellent in BP and you could easily use tram from Teréz krt if living at O ut.