UK expat looking for advice please....

Hi,

New to this but could really do with some help please!

I work in the motor trade which in the UK pays very well but I am very interested in a new life in Muscat.

I have recieved the following offer and looked at some potential costs (searched around the net) and I make the cost of living very different to some examples on here so would really appreciate some guidance please....

1) Property Prices - I will be working in the central area so need to live pretty close (The wave or MSQ looked nice) but 3 bed unfurnished properties all seem to around 1400 OMR upwards.

2) Electricity for such a property, I was working on around 100 OMR (A/C will be on constantly etc) but only info I can find seems to relate to small properties

3) Telephone and Internet, looking around this seems to be a combined 60 OMR?

4) Mobile phone - I have an Iphone and want to unlock it and bring it over, will use it to call back to UK occasionally so was working around 50OMR a month?

5) Car rental and Insurance - Can I get a half decent rental (small 4x4) for around 200OMR a month? with insurance say around 300 OMR a month?

6) Family of 4 - kids will still want some UK foods and appreciate they will come at a cost - 300 OMR a month

7) Schooling - The british school has prices on its website and for my 6 and 12 year old it seems it will cost nearly 800 OMR a month!

Sorry for the long post but some of the figures I have found differ so much to what people are reccomending on here - in particular property and school, that I could really do with some advice from somebody maybe who has or is doing it please

Thanks in advance!

Hello Scuderia Shields.

Welcome to Expat.com! :)

In meantime, do not hesitate to read the other threads on Cost of living in Muscat.

Thank you,
Aurélie

Hi

Did you accepted the offer. We are also in similar delima. If you have accepted, are the expenses equal to what you had written.

Dear Tinkle455!