Another Canadian thinking of becoming an Expat

Hi all! I am a teacher just outside Toronto about to retire and thinking of relocating to Panama. My wife and I have spent the last few weeks devouring any info we can find on the subject. We want to come down for a couple weeks to check out the lay of the land (possibly this July). I was thinking of starting in Panama City (Gorgona area) and then checking out David and Boquete. We are looking for an area with some fellow expats, not to far from a beach and a relaxing lifestyle, while still having access to some of the luxuries we have grown accustomed to on occasion. Any help and suggestions would be greatly appreciated as I'm starting to find the many hours spent online investigating overwhelming!!!

We live in Boquete.  Moved from CA.  Love it here.  What questions do you have?  What luxuries are you looking to find?

Bringing your 'bike' with you?  There is a bike club here.  I've seen them roaring down the road between Boquete and David on Sundays.  But I don't know more than that. 

Best,

Florence

AuntieFlo wrote:

We live in Boquete.  Moved from CA.  Love it here.  What questions do you have?  What luxuries are you looking to find?

Bringing your 'bike' with you?  There is a bike club here.  I've seen them roaring down the road between Boquete and David on Sundays.  But I don't know more than that. 

Best,

Florence

Wow...thanks for the quick reply. Don't need big luxuries, just the odd night out to a restaurant, a movie...oh and the occasional fast food joint. Great news about a bike club...I'll have to find out more about that!!!