Cost of living in Abu Dhabi for a family of 4

Hello all,

I am about to receive an offer to work in Abu Dhabi and I am wondering on the cost of living there. I am a postdoc in engineering with 6 years experience.

We are a family of 4, me and my wife with two kids.
As far as I understood the benefits will include housing and kids education, what I want to know is the daily life expenses:

1- Utilities: electricity, water, Gas
2- Grocery: how much on average you think one would spend
3- Dinning out a couple of times a month
4- Car: how much would a car cost there, can we buy one with installments?
5- Fuel and parking
6- Internet

Thank you for your help

Hi YZ82 and welcome to Expat.com!

Hope that other members will soon share their experience with you.;)

In the meantime, I invite you to browse though the forum, it may give you an idea.

Harmonie.

It all depends on the package that you are offered.  Most companies take care of the accommodation, medical, kids education (allowance or actuals paid by some companies and government agencies). air tickets annually (may be semi annually in some cases!!!).

If you stay in an apartment, electricity/water would be approx. AED  200 per month at the most whilst the central gas would set you back about AED 100 per month at the most.  However, deposits would be required for electricity and water (AED 1000) whislt the gas company would also require a deposit (unsure of the amount but it is not much).

Groceries would not burn a big hole in your pocket but depends on what luxuries you are looking for when you eat.  I would say a family of four would be able to survive on max of AED 750 per week (upper end) not including liqour expenses.