Cuenca Symphony

Does anyone know anything about the Symphony ORchestra in town? My husband and I are professional musicians (bass and cello)and will visiting Ecuador this summer. We would like to meet some of the Cuenca Symphony folks. thanks in advance. Gerry

Hello,

The Cuenca Symphony is a good orchestra and plays many free concerts in the city and the province.  Many musicians from other countries are invited to play with them.

They have a page in Facebook: Orquesta Sinfonica de Cuenca and the webpage is: www.sinfonicacuenca.gob.ec

There is also an active youth orchestra in Cuenca.

Thanks so much for your quick replies. I am also a conductor and Orchestra teacher, so the Youth Symphony component is especially nice to hear about. I'll check out the websites you mentioned. We are flying in from either San Fran or LA - which city would you suggest we fly into? (Cuenca, Quito or Guayquil?
We have about 4 weeks to explore Ecuador. I also want to do a Spanish immersion for a week or two and will probably do that first thing in the city we fly into. If you can recommend any programs feel free to share your information and thoughts.
Our goal is to explore, look at some farmland (2-5 acres), check out the Symphonies in Quito and Cuenca and learn Spanish.
Thanks for your help...Gerry up in Oregon

If you're planning to vist the country I think is better to get to Quito first and then move down to Cuenca.
To do that you can use the local bus transportation, rent a car
(usually no automatic cars) or hire a driver with car.

Vinny