Work in Brazil

i want to go to brazil and stay there for at least 1 years for fun and travel including working in brazil. i am a structural civil engineer with 18 yes experience in design of bridges and industrial buildings.can someone here show me the way to immigrate / live / settle or find a job in brazil.

Hello maniskarandikar!

Welcome to Expat-blog.com

We have created a new discussion on the Work in Brazil forum.

You can also post an advertisement in the Jobs in Brazil.

Enrique

Hello Manish,

I'm sorry to be the bringer of bad news, but for foreigners finding a job in Brazil in no easy task by any means. The cards are stacked against us right from the beginning.

The laws here in Brazil obligates all private sector companies to prove that they have exhausted all efforts to place a qualified Brazilian citizen in a job vacancy and have been unable to do so. Only then are they permitted to hire a foreign national (from any country).

Public sector jobs are reserved exclusively for Brazilians or naturalized Brazilian citizens, who then must go through a selection process involving a test, which has thousands of people trying out for the vacancy.

The easiest way to work in Brazil is to obtain an investor's visa, if you have R$150 thousand to invest and a business plan it's easy to get one.

It would probably be easier to smuggle an Indian Elephant into Brazil in your carry-on bag than finding a job here, unfortunately.

Also you must consider the fact that any foreign diplomas must be recognized here in Brazil, this is a very bureaucratic process too. Please see the link for my posting on the subject.

https://www.expat.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=177474

Cheers,
William James Woodward - Brazil Animator, Expat-blog

That is exactly what I said, when a company in the private sector can establish that they are unable to fill positions with qualified Brazilian citizens they can hire foreigners, isn't it?