Moving to Spain

Hi, My name is Marina and I am thinking of moving somewhere in Spain with my fiance in 1-2 years. I have lived in Chicago my whole life and have visited Europe several times. I went to Rome,Italy as a child and then turned 21 in Siracusa, Sicilia. I went to London when I was 24. My fiance is from Poland and is in love with Spain. He no longer wants to live in the U.S. I have considered teaching English as a means of income. I am a social worker in Chicago and I have always wanted to be a therapist, but I am not sure how I could accomplish this in Spain. The thought of moving to Spain is very exciting, but I also feel a bit scared. I am already 35 years old and I realize that this is not an age where most people move to other countries. At the same time, I am not most people.

Hello Marinaga,

I think is not a thing of the age is a thing of how to affront this change. Possitevely I can tell you that you are young to move everywhere you want:D, but it depends where. How do you manage your Spanish? I mean, to teach english you will need it.

Hi Enrique,

Thank you for your response. I am in the process of learning Spanish through a recorded program. I listen to and repeat the phrases while driving in my car.

Marina

Hello Marinaga!

That' s a great thing! Go on and then the words will sound easily.

Enrique

Dear Marinaga,

Don't feel that 35 is old.  I came to Spain as I was just turning 40, and, even more scarily, I came alone.  I am an English Teacher and I went to Spain without any formal Spanish.  Many people will say that the aim is for students to learn English, and therefore the teacher shouldn't need to speak the language of the students.  However, in my brief experience, some level of Spanish would have been a great help, particularly when teaching young kids.  You sound like you are preparing yourself for this, so just go for it and good luck!

Curly x

Hi Marina,