Moving to HCMC Vietnam

Well I currently live in Minnesota USA.  I have a Bachelor of Science degree in Business.  Also have over 10 years accounting experience but no direct classroom teaching experience.  I already have a place with a nice family to rent a room from in HCMC.

That said my plan was to move down to Vietnam and then get my CELTA at Apollo English as it is close to where I will be staying. 

Is this a good idea?  Will I still have trouble finding work?  Also if teaching English does not work will there be any other jobs I could do that would at least cover my living expense?

I have many more questions but these are the biggest. From what I read having a place to stay seems like a big part of the stress of moving but I seem to worry about everything. 

Thanks for any help that you may have for me.

The full time CELTA experience is very intense.  Moving to a new part of the world and doing the CELTA is even more of a challenge.

Its just for 4 weeks.  How would you rank it to a regular college course?  Same or harder?  I was thinking it would be good to take it in Vietnam as they would gear it more to the local market. 

Much thanks.

hey Minnesota, that's exactly what I did! Did my CELTA at Apollo and then worked there for over a year. It's a good school but they have high expectations. The CELTA is a tough course but if you give it your all then at the end of the day, it's only a month. Apollo and ILA are the best 'entry level' school in saigon. Pretty much all the fresh CELTA graduates work at these but there are other schools to consider if you want a bit of an easier ride.

When you're doing the CELTA, get a place as near to Apollo as possible as this will make it much easier. I see you have a place already but if it's far from Apollo then it will make life much more difficult. Let me know if you need any more advice.

It's like drinking from a fire hose.