NEED ADVISE FOR CONSEQUENCES FOR WORKING VISA CANCELLATION IN UAE

Hi does anyone there can help me to give me an idea what will be my consequences if i resigned without finishing my contract.

I HAVE 2 YEARS CONTRACT  ive been working for 1 year & 4 months..as salary is not enough for the job im doing.. i want to resign but my boss declined my resignation he told me that i should pay 2 months salary to him first and 30 or more days notice period only after resignation..

Im planning to join other company which has good offer in salary.I dont if its right that he will ask money from me upon my cancellation.. and i called labour regarding that one.. they said i dont need to pay anything as i completed my one year..

Guys i need more brains to advise.. if you have any idea.. please do advise me..

many thanks!

ardnassela

An employee who does not complete a contract owes the employer 1.5 months salary or less, but not more unless the contract says otherwise (Article 115).

On Jan 2011 the Labour Law has changed allowing you to change employer after 1 year.
Most UAE employers are big time liars. They might try to blackmail you by lying about the law or illegally retaining your passport, that is a property of the gov. who issued it, and cannot be retained by a third party for long time.

Find out more info at this link:

http://www.dubaifaqs.com/labour-law-uae.php

If your employer is local, even if you are in the right, you are still in trouble, depending on his connections. He will go to the police and make up a case against you and you might be deported or blacklisted. Unfortunately the Labour Law in UAE is not really respected and it all comes down to the nationalities of the people involved.

Local against Asian (no chance of success)

Local against US /EU nationalities (depend on local's connections and power)

non-local against non-local (stronger nationality will win)