How to use teaching experience here to get a job in U.S.

I need some advice.  I was a corporate paralegal for 11 years then was down-sized in 2009. Could not find any job so came here in 2010, got TESOL and have been teaching.

Now I am ready to return to the U.S., preferably my home city of Chicago.  The unemployment rate is still above 8%.  Cannot think of a way to present this experience or how it would be marketable.

What do other teachers do when they return to their countries?

I have searched Monster and other sites.  The only ESL jobs are for Asia!

Please advise.

There are ESL jobs at local colleges and universities, but I imagine the competition is stiff and the pay is meager.

http://www.simplyhired.com/a/jobs/list/ … hicago,+il

You've lived in a foreign country, and it just happens to be a country that the average American thinks is a place wrought with danger.  Play that up, most of the people I associate with back home are fasinated by what I tell them about the "new" Vietnam.  I'm sure hiring managers would be, as well.

You've taught English and I assume you're familiar with the different aspects of teaching it and what you have taught.  Here's a sample from my CV:

Experience

- Vietnam-

School Name

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam

10.07.2012-present 

Corporate Trainer - English for Presentations, Negotiations, Commerce, Shipping, Logistics and General Business.

Freelance Tutor - Ho Chi Minh City and Hanoi, Vietnam

10.09.2011 - 10.06.2012

Learners:   Children- Adults   

Levels:  Beginner - Advanced

Subjects:  General Business, TOEFL, IELTS, TOEIC, Speaking, Vocabulary, Pronunciation

School, Name:  Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam 01.12.200--01.06.2011

Learners: Children - Adults

Subjectts:   IELTS preparation, TOEFL preparation, Speaking, Vocabulary, Pronunciation, Reading and Writing.

and so on, and so forth...

Hello catsophat.

Maybe you can post a message on the USA forum as well. ;)

Thank you,
Aurélie