Any packing tips?

Does anyone have any packing advice in addition to what was listed on the how to page.

I am trying to make the move without spending a fortune on shipping/airline bag fees, so what are must-have items and what can I easily find in HCMC?

For reference, I'm coming from the US, I am in my early 20's (single/no kids), and am very active (played college basketball, love tennis, soccer, etc). I majored in English Literature in undergrad so I love to read. I plan on travelling as much as possible in the region while I'm in HCMC.

Some specific questions:

Is it difficult to find book stores with (good) English-language literature? I saw a few carried in bookstores when I visited last year but not as much choice as I had hoped for!  Should I invest in an e-reader/e-books?

Are there reputable gyms to join (looking for basketball/tennis courts, free weights, squat racks, kettlebells, etc)? Is it easy to buy fitness equipment there?

Would it be better to stock up on a years supply of my prescriptions or is the cost cheaper in VN? Are major brands available/is that industry well-regulated in VN?

To any American ex-pats- is there anything you wish you had thought to bring? Any US brand/product you found you have been missing?

Thanks for your time and thanks in advance for your help! Much appreciated!

Best,
Melinh

Q. I am trying to make the move without spending a fortune on shipping/airline bag fees, so what are must-have items and what can I easily find in HCMC?

I always wear a jacket of many pockets which I fill up with the heavier objects so they don't get counted in as weighed, checked baggage.

Using non-US carriers also helps. Cathay and Eva both have the ability to add a Third Bag for a under $200. They also give you far better service than North American carriers.