Should i take this offer?

Hi to all, I am a serving Officer in the Indian Navy and hanging my boots in August this year. Have been offered a facilities manager role in Angola. Contemplating whether i should relocate to Angola or stay back in India. Salary offered is USD 34,387.00 per year. Alongwith this, free bachelors accommodation,all meals, medical benefits and 60 days leave with airfare. Should i take this offer? How expensive is the country? Is this money sufficient or should i ask for more? (Though it is never too much);) Request early reply as have to confirm to the company. Many thanks in anticipation of a response.

it is not enough for life here.If you're alone is ok,but for an expat family 2+3kids your wages is going only for food.You need car/transport and Phone also.

Dear Dantrinca,

Many thanks for the alacrity of your response. I am being told i have to go alone. The salary, as i did mention is USD 29,314.00 Fixed and USD 5,173.00 variable. In addition, a bachelors accommodation, 3 meals and once in a year air-fare is in addition. Should i consider taking this job? Will i end up saving anything? I have a very simple life style i.e no drinking/ no smoking. Love eating out once in a while. An adventure enthusiast and love to explore new lands/ meet new people.Please tell me whether i'll be able to sustain a life style there? And if yes, what approx could one save to send home? Thanks a tonne, i know i'm bothering u but need you to help me. Regards

You don't bother,but you'll go away alone and leaving back a family? I will not do it for 10 month away and just 2 home.Decision is yours.cheers

I guess i need to rough it out for an year or two. Anyways my wife ought to stay back here for looking after my 3 yr old son. But, does one save anything to be able to send back some dough home? What's an average salary for a good living?

Hello vikrantmalhan.

Welcome to Expat.com!

A new thread has been created on the Angola forum for more interaction. :)