Volunteer in nairobi hospital

Hello,

I am planning to come to Nairobi next month and I would like to do some volunteer in Nairobi hospital as I am a medical doctor. So I was wondering if anyone can give me some information on how to approach the hospitals  and which hospital allow international doctors to do volunteer without paying the fees.
I also want to ask if you could suggest some website for apt or house in nairobi.

thanks for ur help!

Nina

You could check with Kenyatta Hospital, I met some foreign medical doctors who were volunteering there once. 

As for apartments, it depends on your budget.  There are lots of furnished and unfurnished apartments available in Nairobi.

hi Huani,

You will need to check with the hospital first before they can allow you to volunteer. I know some doctors came by some years back and were not allowed to volunteer and they went back a few days later. I believe that you may need to apply for a work permit if you want to volunteer. Its best to check with immigration - http://www.immigration.go.ke/index.php? … Itemid=127 and see in which category applies. Kenyatta Hospital(its the hospital that rejected the volunteer doctors in 2009/10) is a government institution so it may be tricky getting it but it would the best as they deal with almost everything including emergencies, depending on what you are looking for. There are private hospitals like Aga Khan, Mater, Karen, Nairobi, Nairobi Women's Hospital and Getrude's Garden which is a children's hospital similar to Great Ormand hospital in the UK etc, There are also other smaller hospitals and clinics which if you wish to have more information please refer to these websites: http://www.nhif.or.ke/healthinsurance/i … Itemid=53/http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_hospitals_in_Kenya