What is Guangzhou like to live in?

Greetings to all,

I am a British graduate living in the UK and considering working in China teaching Eglish with (moderated:no free ads) They would place me in Guangzhou, train me for a couple of weeks and them find me a school to teach in for around 20 hours per week. Pay is between UKP600 and UKP950 per month, but they take 50% for the first four months. They refund my flight and visa costs upon completion of a six or twelve month contract.

What I'm wondering is whether anyone from a British, or more generally a Western, background who has experience of living in the city of Guangzhou in particular could give me a sense of how they found it. Was it an enjoyable place to live? Is there anything in particular I should know about this city before taking the leap? What are the upsides and the downsides?

Also, I speak no Chinese, but with regard to language preparation for just getting by in everyday life, should I start looking at Mandarin or Cantonese.

I'd be most grateful for any thoughts. :)

Best Wishes,
Longusername

Hi,
I have just signed up to this website and seen this post straight away. You must be going through English International right? It sounds very similar to what i am going to be doing..fact and figures etc.
I am leaving for Guangzhou in February and i'm also trying to find out as much as possible about the city, etc.
I don't speak any Mandarin or Cantonese, however i went on a website called UK Tutors and managed to find a Tutor who is from Guangzhou but is living very close to me, she is going to teach me Mandarin however will also learn me the basics of Cantonese, just to help incase i come across someone who can't understand Mandarin.

Hope to hear from you, Karly.

Im English and I've been in Guangzhou for nearly 4 months now. I stumbled across this other night and decided to reply.