Moving to Quito....freaking out about La Mariscal assaults

I'm moving to Quito with my husband. I'm worried about safety. Don't get me wrong--I grew up in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic but I'm a bit out of practice with a third world country and I won't have a car. There's been about 580 assaults in La Mariscal and I don't care much for obvious drug activity. I've lived in the inner city the US before. I hate freaking out or spreading bad rumors about a country or living in fear. Just want to know how the females feel living there, what's the best neighborhood to live in Quito and general tips.

Thanks!

Hi, I'm new to this blog too. I have traveled around to a few third world countries and understand your concerns. My son is thinking of taking a teaching position in Quito, moving from the Philippines. We heard all the horror stories about the same thing regarding the Philippines before he left the states to go there. He has now been there 4 yrs, and we have spent many months ourselves in the Philippines traveling all about and had never really been put in any fear. There were those areas I would not frequent at odd hours or carry much money, and we would keep the car doors locked. Several of us spent time there and would go back at anytime. There are always areas that are off limits for the non local, even in the states. It's always a case or fear of the unknown. I'm not aware of the issue you are speaking about and would have concern too. Hopefully someone will chime in shortly and share any real concerns.

neweller,