Teaching in Vietnam Questions

Hello All,

I have posted here before but figured I would give a quick run down on me again.

I am a Firefighter / Instructor and certified fire inspector over in Afghanistan at the moment doing contract work. I am a US expat. I have been to Vietnam a couple times already this past year and just left there a few days ago.

Recently I decided I need a career change. I love being an instructor and teaching people. Thing is I do not believe there is a large calling for fire instructors in Vietnam. So with that in mind I would love to teach English.

My predicament is I do not have a degree. I have been hearing that its not required in many places. I would like to receive training and a certification.

I have seen some schools in HCMC to receive certifications for teaching. My question I am asking is does anyone recommend which cert is the best one to get or a recommended school for me to go to in HCMC to get it ?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank You !!!

Chris

Hi Chris!

Thanks for the introduction.;)

Hope that other members will enlighten you.

Harmonie.

ESL or TESOL certifications. I believe they can be completed online too. I live by the American School of Vietnam in District 2 and on their website they have an open position for ESL teacher. You might want to contact them and ask them if they know where you might get  that certification, or if they have any recommendations on where to start. I believe there's a thread in the blog of a guy who's starting his own english teaching business too, he might also be a good contact for you.

Good Luck!

Teacher Mark wrote:
Chris NJ wrote:

Hello All,

I have posted here before but figured I would give a quick run down on me again.

I am a Firefighter / Instructor and certified fire inspector over in Afghanistan at the moment doing contract work. I am a US expat. I have been to Vietnam a couple times already this past year and just left there a few days ago.