Alternative Energy Business Opportunity?

Hi Gang,

I had just gotten off the phone with my younger sister, in California.  One of her best friends owns an alternative energy business, namely solar and wind power generation, and he wants to bring that into the Vietnamese market.

I studied electricity a little when I was younger.  But, I have never had a chance to go into depth with it, let a lone alternative stuffs to it.  But, from a business and environmental standpoint, I think it is a great opportunity.

Last I looked into alternative energy was about 6 months ago, as I was planning the design and construction of my little home.  But, Vietnam had very little of such resources; the prices were still high; and there were quite a bit of red tapes to deal with.  I had to stop there.

Now, with this new opportunity, I think it worths going into depth with; and I want to start with you guys.  What do you think about alternative energy?  Have any of you had any experience with this product (Anatta...  I mean other than your solar calculator, OK.  Haaa!)?  Do you think the results justify the costs?  What do you think the Vietnamese energy czars will say?  Thanks guys.

Howie

Howie

Kiddo. I am a big user of solar energy everyday. Back home, I have a dryer running nearly continuously to dry my family's clothes. Here, all I need is a rack to hang my clothes.

I have not even mentioned those full-spectrum lamps and sunbeds that costs a ton to buy.

Kidding aside, I did look into it some time ago, albeit on an industrial production scale. Alternative energy is still too expensive to buy and operate. In Europe where this is popular, the industry needs government subsidy to produce and operate.
Despite all the fanfare of President Obama's promise, it is yet to take off in the States. The Solyndra bankruptcy certainly does not help.