I don't know enough about uruquay to know where to move to live.

Please be nice.....I'm a newbie. I feel the world is in a tail spin and feel like it is hitting the USA hard. I live on social security and a bit from VA disability so can't afford much ($1100 per month). I want to buy a house on about five acres so I can grow my own food. I do not want to live in a crowded place but need to be able to drive to shopping and doctors.  I also like to hunt and fish for survival only.

I found after living in the Alaskan bush, I am not the loner I thought I was. I would like to meet some nice lady, so need to be near some nice ladies that speak English and teach me Spanish or whatever.

Where is a good place to live? I can't afford to visit. I will sell everything and just "go south".

If I sell everything I own, I will still be almost broke. I may  come up with $7,000-$10,000 and some of that will go to flying down and renting for a while. I have soooooo many questions but don't know enough to know what to ask yet. I just thought of a new question............is this forum (New Members)the best to be in?

I am sorry no answers yet.. What would you want to know exactly? Montevideo is very close to rural areas where I am sure you would  find something, but as I said in another post, Uruguay is a fairly expensive country. Have you ever thought of Ecuador or Peru? That is if you want latin america, of course...Looking  forward to hear from you and i will try to be more helpful

Uruguay is no longer an inexpensive country. You could live on 1100 per month, IF you had enough cash to buy a house outright, which will probably be over 100,000 USD. If you need to rent and live, 1100 will not be enough. Some of my friends live in Ecuador, and say it is a good place to live on a budget. Good luck!

Rayblank, I can understand your concerns about the state the US is in. Your concerns are certainly valid, and many of us are on your page.