Racism? - Hugely Disappointed

I've been in Ho Chi Minh for over a week now and I am getting used to the glares you naturally get when walking in areas that are not exactly populated by expats or tourists.

Today however, I came across what I can only point at as Racism (please please please tell me if I'm missing something here).

Being a keen guitarist, I travelled to District 3 to check out Nguyen Thien Thuat or widely known as 'Guitar Street'.

It has around 20 plus guitar shops boasting beautiful hand made guitars and other stringed instruments.

I decided that I would take the time to visit all of the stores, meet the owners and test out a couple of there instruments even though I had been given recommendations from friends.

I would say 4 or 5 of the shop owners didn't acknowledge me in any shape or form when I walked into the shop ignoring my attempt at and seeing the size of the places and the size of me it wasn't like I was hard to miss!

I made sure I did my research before visiting the street, I had read that in most places you should take off your shoes before entering (which I made sure I did) and treat the place like the persons home rather than a shop.

I accepted that these owners didn't acknowledge me, perhaps they didn't speak English or were too busy working so I happily
moved to the next place with my cash.

Getting to the point, I then got to this little shop with a man sitting on a stool building a new guitar. I took off my shoes and went to walk in and without giving me a look said 'No' and gestured me out with his hand.

I stood at the doorway in amazement, the shop definitely wasn't closed, there were Vietnamese customers in the shop looking at some guitars.

I said 'excuse me?' to which I had no reply or eye contact. I bent down closer to the ground to try and catch his gaze but nothing. There was a man on a stool next to him (presumably his co-worker) who was laughing at what was going on.