Is RMB100K before tax considered an OK pay in Shanghai(Pudong)?

Hi everyone here.

I'm a single lady from Malaysia and been contemplating a job opportunity at a pharma in Shanghai. However I'm unsure about whether I can survive (as well as to save) on that amount of pay as I know Shanghai is an expensive place to live. I'm aware it's a local package not an expat package so I'll bear all the expenses.

Your thoughts are much appreciated :)

Hi kacey,

Welcome to Expat.com! :)

I wish you good luck in your search.

All the best,
Christine

100K RMB is OK for a newly graduated student.

Thanks for your reply, zyt612.

Actually I've 4 years of working experience in other health research domain at NGO but not pharma. So they think I'm just exactly like the newly graduated and my previous work experience has no value to them? That's pretty discouraging :(

100K RMB per month? That is okay....100K  RMB per year..you would live like a poor chinese person.

Thanks for your reply, Zhuhai_Rob.
By the way, it's annual pay before tax of RMB100K. Sorry about that.
Serious? I thought the locals make even less ie few thousands RMB per month.
In fact, I was expecting more than that ie RMB200K-ish per annum.
How do you define living as a poor chinese person? Can you please explain more?
I'm not a big spender. I spend mostly on food. It'd be great to have a decent pay that allows me to survive (ie a simple and clean sorta place to live at least) and at the same time to be able to save a bit.
I know many expats get paid way above the average of locals do and with all the perks that enabling them to live a very comfortable live but not for my case here though.