We're booked and ready - Arriving in February!

Hi everyone

My Hungarian-born partner and I are arriving in Budapest on Feb 12th.
We have an apartment sorted already - Szent István körút 5 - which is also exciting. Seems like a good area...?

We are both on paid leave (on half-pay) from work and planning on travelling, catching up with family and enjoying life in Budapest.

If you have any tips on things like travel (in and out of Hungary), eating out, transport, safety, money, where's nice to go in cold weather when we arrive (being Australian, I have never seen snow in a city, only on the ski-fields!!), what we might do with ourselves for 8 months... anything, really!

I am a high school teacher (English & Drama) and my partner Bert works for a bank in IT management. I wouldn't mind doing some tutoring work or even babysitting, but I am keen to keep options open so as to allow us to travel as much as possible.

We cannot get visas here for our extended stay - we must apply when we get to Budapest. The advice from the embassy here was to get the "visa for the purposes of family reunification".

Would love to hear from you and hopefully meet some of you there in Feb 2012 if you can brave the cold with me!

:)

Hi Stephanie, I wish you all the best in your new life!;)

Do not hesitate to browse the forum for your questions.

Harmonie.:)

I live in a street off Szent István körút. Yes it's a good area. If you're actually overlooking the körút you'll be able to watch the bright yellow trams go by - exciting!

The street is good for access to many shops, restaurants, bars. At the south end, next to Keleti station, is West End shopping complex, which is huge. You're also in walking distance of central Pest areas like Szabadság square and the Basilika. As you surely know, Margit Island is a short stroll away across the bridge, or keep walking and you're in Buda.

Be sure to check we haven't all frozen solid before you arrive!