Wine discovery

Hello,

You know how French people are ... they always prefer French wines! :/

Let's show them there are a lot of wines all around the world that are really worth :D

What are your favourite wines? (I mean "accessible" wines, not like Chateau Petrus ;) )

In Spain, I would advise you wines from "La Rioja" ...   and for the "aperitivo" (befor you eat) I like vertmouth "del griffo", it has a nice sweet taste ... and you, which wines would you advice me?

Julien

I'm an Australian or Italian kinda wine guy! (Well, OK, only red Italian, but Australian for both red and white).
Chilean and Spanish is pretty good though. French can be good, but I find you have spend more to get a good quality French wine.
What I find most difficult about French wine though is, say compared to Australian, they don't always tell you about what grape varient was used. Not being a real expert, I find at least knowing what grape went into it gives me a little clue as to what it was taste like.

Here in Japan, French (and too a lesser extent Italian) is automatically assumed to be the best wine. Australian is seen as cheap. However, I'd rather drink a 2000Yen bottle of Australian than a 2000Yen bottle of French.

Generally speaking, Japanese 'Western style' wine is bloody awful. They sometimes use the Japanese grape variety which doesn't work. Having said that, it's cheap and great for cooking with!!
BUT, some of the Japanese firms are now working with some companies and people in France and started to produce some pretty good wine. I've had some wine from a Japanese vineyard called 'Grace Wines'. Pretty good stuff.

Mind you, can't beat a nice bottle of Wolfblass! (Aussie. The Gold Label stuff pretty good, as is the Red Label. Cheap as well. Grey label starts getting pricey, but tastes REALLY good).

I like good old Napa and Sonoma wines.  As the California wine industries age a bit the wines are getting way better.