Newbie here, moving to Cuenca in January

Hi everybody! My name is David and I will be relocating with my Girlfriend to Cuenca in January 2012. Just wanted to give a big hello to the expat community and let yall know that we are here. We'll see ya around the message board :)

Talk to you soon!

-Dave and Hillary

Hi and welcome to the forum David!

What will you be doing in Cuenca?
Is it your first time there?

Regards
Armand

Hi Armand. We will be teaching ESL in Cuenca. Can you tell us anything about the expats in Cuenca? From what I have read it seems everybody knows each other and kinda hangs out or meet up at restaurants once a week or so. Is that correct? What part of Cuenca do you live in? Are you American or are you originally from Cuenca?

-Dave

Hi, Dave

Welcome to the Expat.com. The expats community in Cuenca is very active, they have meeting almost every week in a couple of places and they have newsletters like Gringo Tree.

If you need any help with your moving I can recomend you some moving companies names or if you need any other help or advice let me know.

Vinny66

Hi Vinny! Thanks for the offer, I will definitely keep you in mind if we need anything.

[Moderated]

I do have a couple questions that are open to anyone who can answer them.

1. I am a DJ and would like to get some gig's in Ecuador. Can anyone tell me if Ecuadorians are big on American music ie: house, hip hop, reggae, dub-step etc. and if not, what sort of music should I begin to download? Can anyone recommend bands or genres? I figure some sort of salsa...?

2. I will be selling my car before I make my move to Ecuador. Is the public transportation situation good or should I buy a motorcycle once I get down there? How much do motorcycles go for? I figure they are far less expensive there than they are here, is this true?