Pet Transport

Does anyone have any information about transporting pets back to the States? I've acquired 2 cats here in Guangzhou which I'd like to take with me back to Seattle. Any advice or recommendations about airlines, requirements, tips, etc.? Thanks!

I am not an expert. The following is some information I found online.

'A. Contact the embassy of the country of your destination for relevant requirements or information about the entry of a foreign pet. Such information may include the kinds of entry documents and relevant requirements, valid veterinary certificates, etc..

B. Contact the quarantine department of the Chinese government for animals to enter or exit the country. It may provide you with related information about the places where you can get the aforementioned certificates or which designated animal hospitals you need to visit.

You may need to notarise certain certificates, or to ask the veterinarian for medicine or advice for your car-sick or plane-sick animals.

C. Contact your airlines for information about carrying pets with you as a carry-on luggage. Some foreign airlines allow certain pets to travel with their owners. But there are requirements about the size and position of the pet luggage. Also there is restriction to the animal's mobility. Some airlines require the owner to put the pet luggage in a luggage cabin. Then you need to ask for the conditions inside the cabin to know if your pet can survive there.

Adjust the case or whatever in which your pet travels with you. Consider putting some water-absorbing materials inside, so the animal won't feel too uncomfortable if it pees during the long journey.

Before boarding the plane, confirm that the cabin crew has known the existence of a peg luggage and made preparation for it. Prepare an injector for the animal in case of medical emergency.