Is it possible to find a job in Mauritius without knowing French?

Hi,

I was wondering if I could find a job here without being fluent in French. I am permanently settled in Mauritius but most vacancies advertised seem to require a good knowledge of French. If it is necessary, is there somewhere you could learn the language apart from Alliance Francaise because the fees they are charging is a bit high.

Thanks.

Hi,

the main question is: what kind of job are you looking for?

Ive struggled finding a job (and i'm a business analyst), so ive started taking french lessons from a lady in Albion, i can email you her contact details. She's between Rs200-Rs300 and comes to your house if you want her.
Its tough getting a job, if youre not dealing with the language barrier, you dealing with work permit barrier.
Good luck and shout if you need her details.

Thanks for your replies.

Xoli,  I do not need a work permit, I am the spouse of a Mauritian citizen..could you post the phone no. for the tutor? Thanks.

Julien, I am an Internal Auditor and apart from professional Accountancy and Internal Audit and IT Audit qualifications, I have two other degrees- one in Law & the other in Science. Even though I am prepared to start at a very junior level, and for any decent salary (since money is not my main concern), I just cannot understand if what I need is a knowledge of French or some "contacts" to be able to find a job.

Dear Xoli and Namitaa

It would be most inelegant from my side not to express my appreciation for the high level qualifications you both possess.

I am Human Resource Consultant, and I can assure you that though knowledge of French is a significant advantage in securing a job, for sure it is not compulsory.

By the way, there are some openings which could be interesting to both of you. I wish to point out that I am NOT a Recruiting Agent, but merely come across openings and offers during my missions.

Cheers

Vayid

Good Morning,