New And Seeking Advice :)

Hello! I'm new to this site and these forums and though I'd introduce myself and share, hopefully some folks have advice...

I'm a 31 year-old woman living in the US and looking to immigrate to the Brighton area sometime in the next two years. My partner (a woman) is a UK citizen living in Northern Ireland and we aim to be married on a visit next summer (if I can secure a Marriage Visit Visa), with the goal of settling in Brighton once 1) my current project ends (I'm in telecom with a tech background) and 2) I can secure a Marriage Visa, assuming that the previous visa is granted.

My partner will be taking the task of finding us somewhere to live, and I'm beginning to look at jobs in the area to gauge what kind of job market I'm looking at. I graduated high school with some college coursework (ran out of tuition money), over 12 years of clerical/customer service experience, 5 years of telecom experience and looking to get my A+ and Security+ certs before moving, as well as fluent in French.

Do my odds look good for the UK taking me? I know it's going to be a long, expensive and frustrating process, but there's no option for my partner to move to the US, due to DOMA and my country's stance on same-sex marriages.

Any advice is much appriciated! :D

Hi and welcome on board TheOmega!

Thanks for this introduction.
I moved your topic to the Brighton forum for better visibility ;)

Regards
Armand

Hello there

I dont know a lot about marriage visit visas except that you need to provide as much proof as possible that you intend to return to the US following the wedding (ie that you dont plan to settle in the UK immediately).  Your job ties to the US should take care of this, so you will need to get a letter from them stating that you are in the midst of a project and are expected back from the UK on such and such date and the project should finish on such and such date in the future.