Ideal living location?..

Hey all, planning to emigrate to oz in February from Ireland! There are the two of us and our three little boys aged 8,5 and 13months... I'm a paediatric nurse and my husband is a carpenter and basically we want a better quality of lifestyle!.. We are wondering if anybody could help us decide which part of Australia to select to settle in?... We're kind of are between Melbourne and Brisbane at the moment so if any one could point us in the right direction or give us any useful information we would be very grateful.

Hello need a change!

I hope that other members will give some tips to you soon.

Harmonie.:)

I was born and lived in Melbourne for 27 years and it is rather a boring city.  The whether is terrible,  freezing 9 months of the year and then boiling hot for 3 months.  But the worst aspect of the whether in Melbourne is the cloudy days which is very often!!!  There are a lot of bad points I could say about Melbourne which is why I moved but you may find it different and I'll probably get a few Melbournians attacking me for my opinion so I'll stop there.

I have only been to Brisbane for one day.  I have known 3 people who have moved to Brisbane and it wasn't what they expected and moved to the nearby Gold Coast to live instead after a year.  I would prefer Brisbane to Melbourne though,  nicer climate and cheaper property but you might find it harder to get a job than in Melbourne.  But I think nurses are in high demand in Australia and carpenters,  I'm not sure but maybe your husband could start his own business.