Moving to veracruz/mexico

I am a retired teacher from the USA am WILL me moving to Mexico in the near future.  My plan is to move to a city on the Gulf Coast because I enjoy scuba diving, snorleling, anything to do with the water, plus I enjoy checking out ruins, etc.
I have been checking out Vera Cruz, but it has been hard to get information on this area.  My Spanish is very limited, and as far as I know, they have no english newspapers to check out rent, etc. 
I know checking out the area is important, so I will be visiting the area in either May or June, but having some contacts would help to make this trip complete.
If I don't get any response from this e-mail, I will have no other choice but to pack my bags that will fit in my car and go for it, which might me the best way to go.
I don't know anybody where I live to help me, not do I know anybody in Mexico.  Either way, I will be moving there soon.
+

Hi there, We do not lived in Veracruz, but we have been there visiting, city is beutifull, people is very nice and friendly, but veracruz Port is very expensive, I know from some people that prices has skyrocket, I have a friend that works in Coldwell Banker as Agent in Veracruz maybe you should check their web page.

We live in Merida, weather is as warm as in Veracruz, but here prices are more affordable. I recomend you to check some realstate web pages and compare prices on properties, before you move. Beaches in Veracruz are dark, i don't know why, if you like snorkeling you may look for a place with clear sandy beaches.

Just for your information I would provide some web pages about yucatan area, if you are interested feel free to keep in touch.

Before we move here, we talk with different realstate companies in the area, so far we have been working with coldwell banker guys, they are very reliable, plus we had some funny stories with non certify agents.

Greetings from merida.

www.yucatantoday.comwww.coldwellbanker.com.mx