My experience so far in Accra

Hi everyone,

My name is Emunah and it's a pleasure to be part of this community. I moved to Accra from UAE about a month ago. I have been a resident of UAE for 15 years, I studied in the UAE as well. I am an MSK/Orthopedic physiotherapist, practiced in hospital in UAE for like 6 years, ended my contract and decided it was time to move on.

My time here in Accra so far, has been a bit of “oh wow so lovely “ and “no this is not what I expected “ moments. Before moving here, I was mentally prepared for the weather, based on what I read and the information I gathered, I was told the weather here was usually very hot especially in December but getting here I found the weather ok and not as bad as I imagined, but then coming from UAE where the temperature and humidity level is somewhat unbearable I guess my perception differs. I also had the notion that getting an apartment will be hectic and probably take a while based on the scary stories I heard on finding an accommodation in Accra, but I managed to get a decent apartment less than two weeks after I arrived without any hassle, I found a compassionate nice local that helped me, thanks to God. One thing I must mention though is, most online real estate or property ad were fake or scam. I will advise anyone looking for property not to go the online route, they are not trustworthy at all.