Type A residence card renewal timeline

Hi everyone,

My name is Josh (a non-EU national), new (relatively) in Belgium and new to the group. I am a researcher with a type A card. I have to renew my resident permit every year. According to the instructions from the commune, I am supposed to submit the resident permit extension (prolongation) 30-45 days before the expiration date.

I applied for the extension in mid-August (my resident permit validity was till the end of September). It has been three months and no news. I was wondering whether anyone in this group knows how much time it takes. Any thoughts on why it gets delayed so much? (I tried to contact the immigration department multiple times. The only response from them was it is under process from mid-August).

Cheers,

Josh

(Apologies for a possible repetition or if I am posting it on the wrong thread)

Hello Josh. Actually they take time to assess your study progress, they will evaluate if you have passed enough credits or not, then they will approve or refuse your residence permit application. The time limit for examining of your application is not well defined, it varies. So you need to wait untill they give their decision

@ABS25 Thanks a lot for the reply!

I am a postdoctoral researcher with a convention d'accueil. Perhaps the credit and study progress may not apply in my case.

@Josh Jasper Is it your first residence card renewal?

@ABS25  Indeed! It is my first resident card renewal.

@Josh Jasper Then i think there is no big worry. They might be just re checking everything. Also This delay is may be due to huge work load. Just wait, no other option

Keep following up by email and in person with your commune/Gemeente.

Your renewal might already be there and they overlooked/forgot to notify you.

It happens more often than you might think.

Thanks, @ABS25! The only worry is that I am kind of bound to Belgium's boundaries, and in case of emergencies, I won't be able to travel even to my home country.