Working in Malta from South Africa

Hi, would be grateful if anyone could give me some advice

My husband and I are thinking about moving to Malta. I am an EU resident and we live the UK so I know there should be no problem with me living and working there. However my husband is a South African and still has his South African passport. Having searched the internet it seems that he could only work there by getting a work permit if he is employed by a local maltesse person, Is this correct? But ideally he would want to be self employed as this is what he currently does as an electrican, is there any way of doing this?

I have seen there are lots of South Africans living and working in Malta so wondering how you have managed to so this?!

Thanks!

Hi,

just to clarify before I answer. You say you are an EU resident but what passport do you hold?

If you hold an EU passport your husband will be also entitled to the same rights as an EU citizen.

And welcome to the forum.

Regards
Ricky

Thanks for your reply, yes I hold a UK passport. So there would be no problem with him working or setting up as self employed as long as we are married and living together (which of course we would be doing!)?

Also having looked today it seems even if he is travelling with me to Malta for a holiday he would need a Schengen visa still.

So am a bit surprised that he would still need a visa to get into the country but then before affored that rights as an EU citizen? So would he need a different visa to get into and live in the country?

Thanks again, all advice is much appreciated!

Hi,

Yes, you are right!

The UK ( through their own decision ) is not part of the Schengen area. Your husband will need to go through the whole Schengen visa procedure and rely on your position as EU citizen to get his legal rights in Malta.