Hello world

hello everyone!

I'm a new member of Expat.com and I'm so glad I found this website.I have joined this blog to get in touch with people of different nationalities.

I'm a 25 yr old Filipina.I'm a teacher and I'll go to Vietnam by the end of this month.Can anyone please give me some sensible information about the country - and reliable schools that I can contact? E-mail addresses would be welcome!

All the best for everyone!

Cheers

Hi iamdes,

Welcome to Expat.com! :)

I have moved your topic on the Vietnam forum for more visibility.

I hope other members will be able to advise you.

I wish you good luck
Christine

Thank you!
I really hope that that they will give me the best advise.
I'm looking forward in making new friends!

Hello iamdes,

Which part of the country, or which city, are you planning on going to?  Until then, I suggest that you stick with the private institutions.  Pay is much better than their public counterparts.  Foreign-owned is even better.

Best wish,

hi wild_1!
do you think it's wise to stay in HCMC?
i've heard that there are many opportunities there.
when is the best time to go?isn't it too late for me to go next month?
thanks!

Hi iamdes,

Right now, as we speak, it is not late; but, you are cutting it close.  Public schools will start shortly.  But, like I had mentioned earlier, the private sector is still wide opened.

But, don't you have a job lined up already?  If you don't, then yes, HCMC is your best bet.  It is much like the Shanghai of Vietnam, or the Los Angeles.  It can cost you a bundle if you are just wondering around, not to mention all the pollutions and crazinesses.  But, it is where the action is. 

Plus, for the better paying jobs, that depends on who do you know.  Yes, that is still being practiced here.  If you are on a budget, that is not a course that I would advise.  But, if you are here just to learn about different places and people at your own cost, then don't hesitate.  There are lots to learn here.