Arrived on Monday, hi to all

Hi all,

i am a german paramedic who arrived on monday in Riyadh looking forward working in EMS.

I really soaked up your forum/blog before i came here to get as much information as possible. Before my flight started in Frankfurt i saw alot of Saudi people in the wating zone and there was this feeling "is this really the right thing you are doing?" but during my flight i got in contact with a young saudi and we had a nice friendly talk all over the flight and all my fears were gone.

I have never been welcomed in such a friendly way. Everyone was really really really friendly up to now.

The last 3 days were full of totally new experiences. To Germany/Switzerland its an different world. But i enjoy here every day.

Just want to say hello.

Have a nice day

Sven

Welcome to the forum, welcome to Riyadh and welcome to a new experience!

You have a good time mate!

Hi Svenmedic,

The fear of the unknown can often be worse that the reality.  I am glad you were able to interact with a local Saudi who put your mind at rest.

So have you made a long term move to Saudi and where have you managed to get accomodation?

I am here temporarily, for only 3 months, but things may change and I would be happy to stay longer.  It did take me a little while to get in tune with the local culture but now I feel much more relaxed and I'm stating to pick up more and more Arabic phrases (I woud love to be able to converse only in Arabic but that is a long way off!).  I don't live on a compound and think that suits me better as the appartments feel more like part of the local community rather than some compounds, which felt to me like a foreign country within a foreign country!

I hope you enjoy your stay and good luck. :)

Andy

@ RedGoblin: thanks alot, yeah i will have a good time

@ GinSkipper:

I want to stay at minimum one year and the first 3 months i will/have to stay at a hotel. After that maybe i will move to a company compound.