Quality of life in Costa Rica?

Welcome all I am new to the blog.

I am considering a move to CR with my wife. We are in our mid 50's. All the realestate guys say CR is the garden of eden, but I keep reading about all the crime.
1. How safe is CR? (San Ramon or San Isidro)
2. How well do the Ticos and the expats get along?
3. Is there much violent crime in San Jose?
4. Are there expat clubs or social groups? My wife doesn't speak spaninsh so she would like someone to talk with.

Any information on the the quality and expense of life for expats would be greatly appreciated. We are your typical middle income types.

Mike

We completely understand!  We've been doing our research and visiting CR for over 3 years now.  Let me send you a website address that will help you get started.  These are some of our new CR friends we've made.  They're actually living there, we're still in the planning stages.  And one very important thing, no two.  DON'T buy anything unless you have at least one attorney, preferably two.  Keep doing your research and you'll soon learn why.  Second:  don't buy anything until you've had a chance to check out the country.  We like both San Ramon and San Isidro but they are different in climate and expat views.  Far too much to tell you in one short post but others will answer you too, or you can ask me more questions.  Here's the info for Paul and Gloria Yeatman's site.  Tell them Vikki said hello! http://retireforlessincostarica.com/

Thanks for the reply. Wow 3 years of research. What do you like best about CR and what do you like least? We are looking for cooler climate (75-85) and friendly people. I will go to the website and say hello to Vikki.

Thanks again,
Mike

Another source for those interested in Costa Rica insights and news:  sceniccostarica.com  Good news section. 

Another Mike