Hello Hungary!

Hello all, I am brand new to Budapest - I've been here just one month - I'm a tefl teacher and loving the city but know very few people!

Kathryn

Hi Kathryn,

Welcome to Expat.com! :)

Do not hesitate to share your experience with us.

All the best,
Christine

Hi Kathryn

Welcome to BP :D  You will have a great time here and there are loads of very nice people on the forum

H

Hi Kathryn,
I'm currently negotiating for teaching job in Budapest. I'd be really grateful for your thoughts about good teacher salaries. I just don't know what is customary. Thanks in advance for your advice.
tklv
--hope I posted this question correctly...I don't know what is customary on this site either!

Hello T.K.L.V. and welcome to Expat.com!

Hope that Kathryn will be able to help you, or you may create another discussion on the Budapest Forum.

Good luck,
Harmonie.

Hi,

T.K.L.V. wrote:

I'm currently negotiating for teaching job in Budapest. I'd be really grateful for your thoughts about good teacher salaries. I just don't know what is customary.

Regular schoolteachers make unbelievably little in their regular jobs: 800 EUR a month or less, and taxes just got raised in those lower brackets.

Language teaching on the other hand is relatively profitable, a class of 10 people will pay over 40 EUR for a 45 minutes lesson.
Not sure how language schools share that with the teachers, I assume the summer break means an increase in supply and a decrease in demand...

Try to negotiate something steady to live off of, but leaving enough free time for private students on the side. And to enjoy the lovely summer we have this year :-)

hi TKLV, I'm new to all this too! ih pay 2900 per teaching 'hour' (45 mins)other schools seem to vary, around 2500ft mark though. privates you will definitely get more for, between 5-7000ft per hour, but obviously it's easier through a school as they have facilities and find the students for you!