Newbie with LOTS of questions

Hi Everyone, this is my first time on this blog and I'm hoping that all of you that are experts in the art of expat living can help me with all my questions.
We are moving to Abha and I don't seem to be able to get much info about expats living there. I know that there is a compound in Khamis which is close by. My husband has worked in Abha before when he was a bachelor so he's very calm about the whole move....but I'm not. (after all he'll be off to work everyday and I'll be picking the pieces up at home!)
Firstly...from what I have read so far it is better to live on a compound...is that true?
And what should we bring with from home? I'm thinking of all the toys etc. which are important to my kids, my son is about to get a bike for his 4th birthday and we can't exactly leave that behind can we!
Could I bring a bible in or is that a no no?
Can you talk to the men, for instance to ask something in a shop or for directions?
From what age does school start at the international schools?
Would I be able to come home for Christmas?
My sons both get croup, can I take the nebulizer and solution on board the plane? (and talking about flying...what on earth do you do with two small kids on a plane?...any tips?)
Sorry for all the random questions, I'm writing whatever pops into my mind which is a bit haphazard at the best of times!
What do Women do all day, I'm terrified of being stuck at home all day and getting bored out of my mind.

So, if anyone out there can answer some of these questions I'll be very happy, and it would be great to chat to someone from Abha.

Hi 3J's&aD!

I hope other members will be able to help you soon ;)

Regards
Armand

Hi there 3Js, and welcome to the forum!
lets go thru your qs one by one:

1. yes, it is better for expats to live in compounds, since it dos help out in your social life.