Tempted with Spain

Hi to all,

Hoping someone may be able to help me out here.

I have been considering moving from Singapore to Spain (to be closer to family & friends in the UK) and was initially thinking of doing this late 2011.
However as I work as a Financial Adviser I am concerned with the economy in Spain at the moment. All the reports I am reading out here are pretty negative about Europe in general, particularly Spain and I am hoping someone who actually lives and works there could shed some light on what its like there.

Because of my job I worry that setting up at the moment might be detrimental to my business, are people actually confident about the markets there ? Are new expats still coming into Spain, Are the big companies still hiring there ?

In terms of getting a job there I already have several open ended offers, however as traditionally in our profession we depend on commissions from writing new business I don't want to turn up there and find the "arse has fallen out of it" and then ending up living off savings for the next 2 years.

My other thought is to hold tight here in Asia for a while longer and see what emerges in Europe for the next 12 months or so.

Potentially looking to move to Madrid or Barcelona area, anybody have an idea of the cost of living in those areas, ie rent, schools, cars ?

Any thoughts or advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Chris

Hi Chris.
My name is Irene and I am from the South of Spain but 1 month ago I moved to Nha Trang, Vietnam.
In the centre of Madrid or Barcelona you can rent a house about 1.000/2.000 euros/per month. But you can share with people.
If you go to the South, for example, to Murcia, Alicante or Almería you can rent for 350/600 euros.
Every one or two months, depends of the company, you must pay the water and electricity bill. Internet bill, too.
When I was living in Spain I paid around 40 (water) 50 (light) 40 (internet) every month.