Why do I feel afraid of moving?

Hello fellow Expats,

I'm new to expat.com and heavily considering moving to Sweden with my wife and 6 month old son. We currently live in San Diego, California and I absolutely love it, except its getting expensive without any family assistance and my wife wants to raise our family in Sweden for all the benefits they offer.

So, I'm not a fan of cold weather as I grew up in Detroit, Michigan for 20 years and I've had my fair share of cold weather in my life. Besides the cold weather. I am a very active person and get bored very easy. I've been to Sweden many times and I was bored more times than not.

I'm afraid of moving to Sweden and getting bored and depressed. I've heard people that live in Sweden already have a hard time with that.

Did anybody feel the same way when moving into Sweden?
What was your experience moving into Sweden from the day you arrived up until now?
What was most difficult adjusting to Sweden? 

Thank you for your help!

-Sam

If it feels wrong, there's a better than average chance it is.
Have you considered Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, or some other way different place?

Every place has its own challenges and so does Sweden. And its easy to get bored in Sweden specially due to weather so that is true. Language is another issue. People tend to look at the benefits when they think of Sweden but kind of ignore the high tax rates. The cost of living and availability of opportunities in various aspects of life get ignored. I suggest you have an open discussion with your spouse over the pros and the cons.

Fred- my wife's family lives in Sweden. Moving to another country would not quite solve the problem since she wants to have family around.