Moving to Sweden

hi my name is elizabeth
i am new to sweden and i have just moved here to helsingborg june 2
i am from Canada Alberta in a small town called Innisfail
I am currently looking for work i have just received my residency visa and i have applied for my taxation personal number wont hear about that until the end of november. I would like to meet fellow english speaking canadians or just english speaking would be nice.  I do plan to learn the language once my personal number comes through then i can register for the SFI schools. 
I am very open and love meeting people and doing new things just getting out would be nice.
i have a bike and a car to get around with and i can drive in sweden.
i look forward to meeting and talking to fellow expats....
have a great evening
elizabeh

Hi there, im subhan..just wondering what made you travel sweden for a job? Isn't canada good for jobs?

oh yes of course canada is great i have met a fella many years ago and he invited me here so i came

Thats nice,just wondering can we work with Residency visa? Like for anyone?

according to the government no but i do know of immigrants working under the table and are doing this until their ID cards get approved its who you know and what you want to do

Hi Elizabeth,
I am Hakim planning to move to Sweden sooner.
How long does it take to received your resident visa?
How can you register in SFI school?

Regards
    Hakim

it took me 18 months to get my residency permit
now I am waiting for my ID card from the taxation bureau which will take 9 weeks which puts me into December
as for working it's not encouraged by immigration or the taxation office until ibgave an ID CARD but I'm told that I could work quietly
as for sfi school not available to me until I get my ID card
that's it for now yes it's a waiting game for sure
lots of red tape
and everyone is telling me in Sweden paper work is very slow that comes from immigration and the taxation office
hope this helps you out
Elizabeth