Greetings All:

I'm delighted now learning about life as an expat in Belize. Exciting and challenging! I've only been there in San Inacio twice and the last trip we drove to Dangriga, which was informative and lovely! Two women and no trouble.. The Pelican Resort was total chill with the beach and gazebo on the pier. That was the view from our suite, again just lovely! So moving there is super challenging but I'm excited about possibilities there  at least during the extreme Chicago winters!

I see lots of ads claiming that one can live comfortably in a nice and diverse community in Belize on social security benefits!
Does this sound crazy?
Does anyone know this from personal experience?
Is there a resource for average costs of living expenses: housing, utilities, work permits
food/groceries, transportation? Please share if you know something as I'm a newbie here! It's time to make a budget which I suppose will evolve So homework now.

Thanks in advance.
Kimosha

Just remember the chance of getting  paid employment  in Belize is close to ZERO, so If you feel you need to add to your benefits to be able to live comfortably you need to have some form of self employment, with a legal self employed work permit, or external, Possibly online paying position.
If you want to live comfortably you have to decide what you need for  your comfort . If you wish to eat only american branded foods, Have all  your fruits and vegetables available all year round and like to drink nice wine with all your evening meals then you will need a good income.