How to get teaching jobs in Colombia

Hi everyone,

I'm new to this board, and I wanted to introduce myself and know if anyone had advice for how I can gain employment teaching English in Colombia?

I have an associates degree in liberal arts, a bachelor's and master's degree in Communication from a university in the Cal State system in Northern Californa (I finished a 2-year masters program in 1 year with a 3.97 GPA.)

Professionally I interned for the Discovery Channel, worked at Facebook (as soon as I completed my Master's degree) and for the past four years, I have worked for the Federal Government as a GS-14.

As far as teaching
I took a teaching course in graduate school, and I was a teaching assistant for the entire year of graduate school to a visually impaired professor. I also taught an interpersonal communications course for one quarter to undergraduate students.
I have an online 160 Hour TEFL certification, and I am currently here in Bogota about to begin the CELTA program.

Does anyone have any advice for how I can gain employment teaching here after I finish my CELTA? I am looking to make at least 10 millones pesos per month at the minimum. My preferences are private bilingual school, private universities, and private corporation teaching. Is this impossible? If not then how can I approach looking for employment teaching here? I

Moderated by Bhavna 5 years ago
Reason : Free advertising is not allowed on the forum. Thank you
We invite you to read the forum code of conduct
kennethrobinson wrote:

I am looking to make at least 10 millones pesos per month at the minimum.

Please let us know if you get any legitimate offers for even as much as one third of that 10 million COP.

OsageArcher wrote:
kennethrobinson wrote:

I am looking to make at least 10 millones pesos per month at the minimum.

Please let us know if you get any legitimate offers for even as much as one third of that 10 million COP.