Malaysia to Singapore Salary Conversion

Hi All,

I am a risk management professional and currently working in Cyberjaya in Malaysia. I am in talks with a Bank in Singapore for a job opportunity. My pay here in Malaysia is around 265K gross  per annum + retirals + bonus. I am looking for a slightly upgraded lifestyle in Singapore, for example if I were to change jobs in Malaysia I would have looked for 320K per annum. How much does this work out to in SG- I am hearing conflicting reports ranging from 150K to 200K SGD. I am saving around 12K MYR per month (4K SGD per month) with a comfortable lifestyle and of course with the new job would expect this to go up to 5K SGD northwards. Can anyone help? It will be much appreciated.

You should have mentioned which position you are currently held and which position are you looking at here. There is a salary range in Singapore.

Secondly, you didn't tell about your family members, like how many kids? Where you want to send them for study? According to you, what's the definition of comfort lifestyle? Etc.

You can save $4k to $5k, depends on above details. Studying in international schools would cost $2000 per child. Staying in a 3+1 condo would cost $3,500 to $4000. Having a car, will cost you additional $4,000 per month. If you have party culture, expenditure is unknown as it depends on you. To have a helper, would cost you at least $1000 (includes levy of $265). So, with above comfort lifestyle, you may not able to save $2k

But, with a basic lifestyle, you may save $4k, without car and party culture.

A general rule of thumb to keep the same lifestyle is a 1:1 conversion of M$ to S$. But there is no way you would earn that much in Singapore, at least below CEO level!

In addition, the current financial numbers you gave indicate that you are saving over half of your income. This is unheard of in Singapore!