I want to move as a Self Employed - Guidance required

Hello

Well, I have been a freelance programmer for last 5-6 years and living in Karachi, Pakistan and have been very successful. My clients are all from different part of the world and I work from home. I am married with 2 kids. I have been earning equivalent to  60,000 to 80,000 MUR a month.

I now wish to move to Mauritius as a Self Employed. All I want to know what can be the possibilities ? How and where to start etc. And above all, if my work/earning is OK to live a normal life there.

Thanks & Best Regards
Hashmiz

Hi Hashmiz,

Welcome on Expat-blog! :)

I suggest you to have a look at this article: "How to set up a business in Mauritius". You will find useful informations and links.

I wish you good luck,
Christine

Thanks for your reply. I checked that and have a few questions:

1) To work as a freelancer, annual income should be MUR:600,000 or more. Can i have dependents with me if working as a freelancer ?

2) When a Residential Permit is required ?

regards
Hashmiz

1) yes & yes. But presenting your project to the administration doesn't necessarily means that they will accept it

2) forget about the residence permit

Thanks for your reply Julien.

Is there any self assessment etc available ? like what it takes to get the acceptance ?

There are several freelance websites, and I have been working on 2 of them and have completed about 500 projects related to Web Development, and programming etc.

Is there any place etc where I can get an idea if they will accept ?

thanks
Hashmiz

Many people have got a Residential/Work Permit by incorporating a company. I think so. If you need more info you let me know. I will try my best to help you.

Thanks

check this site: http://www.gov.mu/portal/site/dhasite/m … rpermit%20