Still a ways to go...

Hola!!

My name is Michele and I am unofficially engaged to a wonderful Dominican man that I met through work about 2.5 years ago. We had a rocky start and about 8 months apart after I broke it off after 6 months, typical dating b.s., but as of today are going strong and very happy. We live in the Pacific Northwest and we both have some family here so we are quite comfortable.... for now.... and dreaming of our future together in DR.

He and I still have about five or so years to go before we make the permanent leap to DR so that we can save enough to buy a house there and live in relative security. I would much rather live in a resort town like Punta Cana but he is dying to move back to his home town of Sabana de La Mar. Any advice or stories about that area would be greatly appreciated!! I am here, now, because I am the sort that wants to be armed with ALL the information possible.

I am an Office Manager/Bookkeeper and an unlicensed Massage Therapist and will have my license by the time we move so I am hoping to have a solid job in the tourism industry in a nearby town. I own property here and we can afford to live on one income together and save the other, so I think we should be pretty well set up when the time is right to sell the condo and the cars and make the move. He is a general laborer and drove 'gua gua' when he lived there many years ago and wants to do it again, but this time with a business of his own. He spent about 13 years in Puerto Rico before landing in the U.S. in 2015 so he really misses home.