Legal services in Kenya

Hello,

Legal services can be a headache when you don't have the relevant and necessary information, especially upon moving to a new country. Please share some tips regarding legal services in Kenya.

What types of legal services might an expat need in Kenya?

Are legal services easily accessible?

What are the best ways to go about finding a professional for your legal needs in Kenya? (e.g. online, yellow pages, word of mouth)?

What are the most affordable options for legal services (private, public, etc.)? Is there a range regarding fees?

Thank you for sharing your experience.

Priscilla

Priscilla this a very good topic and very important. As a Lawyer I will always urge anyone in a new country to ensure that their papers are legally correct every second.  The best way of finding a lawyer is always through the company that has employed you, this is because you are more likely to be recommended to a trusted lawyer and even through them you  will meet other lawyers who will assist.
Most expats need services in commercial, Conveyancing and immigration lawws which is always easily available at a favourable cost.
Many leases and sale of properties are other areas that expats need in a new country.

An expat may need the services of a lawyer for immigration matters and property conveyancing, for example.

<<always easily available at a favourable cost>> 

I have to dispute this as far as conveyancing is concerned.  Charges are incredibly high compared to say, the UK as they are based on a percentage of the value of your property (which is endorsed by the Law Society of Kenya).  The last house that we bought led to a lawyers bill of almost Ksh 250,000 for doing a job which doesn't take up a lot of time - especially as we commissioned the searches to speed up the process.  Its a licence to print money!!!