Age 64---more difficult to find job teaching English?

Hello there,
I am a 64 year old male from California and planning on moving to Vietnam and have tentatively “targeted” DaNang/Hoi An area. I would like to teach English, as a way to get more integrated into the community,  have “something to do”, and also put a few extra bucks in my pocket.  I heard that it is more difficult for folks over 60 to find a teaching position--Will my age make it significantly more difficult to find a teaching ESL position? (for what it is worth 😊….i look quite a bit younger and am in good condition). I would get my TESL certificate in Vietnam after I arrive, if this idea makes sense.

As background, I worked in marketing for several high tech companies in the San Francisco Bay Area for 25+ years. I have only limited teaching experience—I taught college undergraduates business courses (did this part time for four years about 15 years ago). I have a lot of business/general life experience in SE Asia (but not in VietN) as I have traveled extensively in Malaysia (have relatives there) and, for business reasons, in Thailand, Indonesia and Nepal.

Thanks for advice in advance.
Pete

I don't see why age would be a problem, in Vietnam, more you are old more you are respected.

rickvn wrote:

I don't see why age would be a problem, in Vietnam, more you are old more you are respected.

Many advertised jobs have an upper age limit of 45. That being said, if you are eager and good at teaching, you should find work without too much drama.

rickvn wrote:

Being respected and being employed are two unrelated matters.

im a 65 year ol olympiv athlete......................

Thanks everyone for your reply. Reduces my concern about my age :) See you in Danang :)

oppps.....another question.....

Do employers/schools in Vietnam tend to view an applicant who gets certified for TEFL in USA a more desirable candidate than if they got their certification from a school in Vietnam?