Looking for an opportunity as an English language teacher in Germany

Hi,

How r u doing?

I am planning to work and stay permanently in Germany as an English language teacher as I have a master's degree in English and I am a Cambridge CELTA certified trainer with 12 years of experience.

Can you share your experiences in Germany?

Can you share contact details of an English language teacher from Pakistan / India in Germany?

Thanks,

Kamran

Hi,
I'm not sure what experiences your looking for..asking particular questions are more helpful. You can look at other questions in the forum. Germany is a country of bureaucracy, rules, and they love paperwork. Finding a flat can be very competitive. You cannot expect them to speak to you in English. Learning a few sentences in German is very helpful and when you go to the government offices do your research beforehand.

There are many language institutes. They all require a certificate and a degree, so your in good hands.  I would suggest reaching out to them.

My Indian friends have told me the same as I stated above. In addition, they have stated that there are Indian stores here however you will not find everything you are looking for (obviously).

Hi

I am actually looking for first hand experiences of non native plus non EU English language teachers in Germany so I could prepare myself accordingly.

Your first response is highly appreciated.

Thanks,

Kamran

I would recommend that you have a good level of German. All the English teachers I know are of at least B1 level in German.

SimCityAT wrote:

I would recommend that you have a good level of German. All the English teachers I know are of at least B1 level in German.

This is very important since teaching at the schools and or private offices there are so many teachers competing. However, if you were to become a teacher at someone's home you may not need German to teach.